Surgery resident honored at national meeting

Dr. Laura Cuddy

Dr. Laura Cuddy

Dr. Laura Cuddy, a third-year small animal surgery resident, has been honored by a leading professional association for her achievements in the clinical, educational and scholarly arenas.

The American Association of Veterinary Clinicians presented Cuddy with its Resident Award, which is presented annually to two residents selected from a field of all residents-in-training in North America.

Cuddy completed her veterinary degree from University College, Dublin, Ireland in 2008, followed by a rotating internship in small animal medicine and surgery at UF in 2009. She received her master’ of science degree from UF in 2011 and is completing a concurrent residency in small animal surgery at UF. Her thesis research investigated the biomechanics of the canine elbow joint and the effects of ulnar osteotomy. Her research has produced two first-author publications for the journal Veterinary Surgery. She has eight additional publications either submitted, accepted or in print derived from clinical research performed during her residency.

Among Cuddy’s previous honors are Most Outstanding Podium Presentation in the Mark A. Bloomberg Resident Research Competition at the Annual Conference of the Veterinary Orthopedics Society in 2011; the Veterinary Arthrology Advancement Association Annual Resident Award in 2011; and the First Place Research Presentation at the Resident’s Forum at the Annual Symposium of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons in 2011. She also received the UF veterinary college’s Excellence in Master’s Studies Award in 2011 and the college’s 2013 Excellence in Clinical Science Research Award.

“We are very proud to say Laura is the fourth UF small animal surgery resident to receive this award in the past decade,” said Dr. Daniel Lewis, professor of small animal surgery and the Jerry and Lola Collins Eminent Scholar in Canine Sports Medicine and Comparative Orthopedics.

Other former small animal surgery residents to receive the award in the past include Dr. Jason Wheeler, Dr. Colin Sereda and Dr. Stan Kim, who is now a member of the UF small animal surgery faculty.

Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

April 2013

Dr. Paul Nicoletti

Retired professor gives $1 million to UF for scholarships

A retired veterinary medicine professor has donated $1 million to UF for student scholarships.

Superior Accomplishment Award winners.

Superior Accomplishment Award winners honored

Several employees of the college recently were honored with Superior Accomplishment Awards.

Embryo transfer in water buffalo put college in limelight 30 years ago

Thirty years ago last month, two emeritus professors put the UF CVM on the global scientific map.

...also in this issue



Around the College