Clinical pathology resident receives research grant

Dr. Amy Weeden

Dr. Amy Weeden

Dr. Amy Weeden, the second year clinical pathology resident at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine, has received the 2013 Share the Future research grant from the American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology to support her research involving Bartonella species, bacteria that typically cause chronic infection with many known and proposed disease manifestations.Weeden’s research proposal focused on the prevalence of Bartonella spp. infection in canine body cavity effusions. Bartonellosis is an emerging, vector-borne bacterial disease, which affects multiple species, including both wild and domestic animals and humans. Clinical presentation is highly variable, and much is still unknown about bartonellosis.

These grants are funded through ASVCP members and corporate sponsors and are intended to help support research by clinical pathology residents and graduate students. In general, proposals are focused on an aspect of clinical pathology, must be clearly articulated, and must show potential for contributing to the knowledge base in veterinary clinical pathology, according to the organization.

Grant selection criteria included scoring of significance, quality of writing, investigators, approach, and environment.

Weeden’s adviser is Dr. Heather Wamsley, an assistant professor of veterinary clinical pathology at UF.





Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

January 2014

Guiliana Miranda

Sophomore veterinary student celebrates U.S. citizenship

Sophomore veterinary student Giuliana Miranda, a native of Peru, officially became a U.S. citizen on Dec. 19.

Dr. Pozzi performs orthopedic examination.

Dogs sought for new stem cell study of chronic osteoarthritis

UF veterinarians seek dogs with chronic osteoarthritis for new stem cell study.

Kelly McGowan

Senior student receives Markel-AAEP scholarship

A senior UF veterinary student has received one of eight national scholarship awards given yearly by the American Association of Equine Practitioners and Markel.

...also in this issue



Around the College