Congratulations to new graduate degree recipients

Several students in the UF College of Veterinary Medicine’s graduate studies program received their Ph.D. and Master of Science degrees on Aug. 5 during UF commencement exercises, held at the O’Connell Center. The college had four Ph.D., four M.S. (thesis-based) and 14 M.S. online (non thesis-based) graduates who received their degree. They include:

Ph.D. recipients:

  • Kevin Kircheval, mentored by Steve Roberts
  • Andrew Smith, mentored by Ali Morton
  • Ley Cody Smith, mentored by Tara Sabo-Attwood and Nancy Denslow
  • Natalie Steckler Stilwell, mentored by Tom Watlzek

M.S. recipients (thesis-based):

  • Alex Fox-Alvarez, mentored by Brad Case
  • Julia Daggett, mentored by David Freeman
  • Myriam Jimenez, mentored by Fiona Maunsell
  • Judd Sims, mentored by Art Donovan

Online, non-thesis M.S. degree recipients in shelter medicine, veterinary forensic science, forensic toxicology and wildlife included:

  • Cathy Anderson
  • Haleigh Arent
  • Caitlin Aviles
  • Isaac Avram
  • Astric Beniquez
  • Audrey Bowlin
  • Mary Campbell
  • Jamie Coxon
  • Terri Hutton
  • Michelle Joyce
  • Peggy Link
  • Randijo Neipp
  • Clarissa Noureddine
  • Sara Schreiber
Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

July-August 2017

Dean Jim Lloyd stands with Veterinary Appreciation Day attendees.

Hundreds attend Referring Veterinarian Appreciation Day

The college’s annual RDVM Day draws clinicians from all over the state.

Potentially lethal parasite rat lungworm found throughout Florida

UF researchers report that the dangerous rat lungworm parasite has been found in several Florida counties.

Dr. Julie Levy

Faculty member receives UF Research Foundation Professorship

Dr. Julie Levy has received a UF Research Foundation professorship.

Dr. Tom Vickroy

Administrator honored by alma mater

Dr. Tom Vickroy has received the 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the graduate school at the University of Texas Medical Branch.

Dr. Juan Samper

Samper named associate dean for students and instruction

A Ross University administrator has been named the college’s new associate dean for students and instruction.

Dr. Stan Kim instructs a class using SynDaver Canine

Surgeon named college’s 2017 Zoetis Distinguished Teacher

A small animal surgeon has received the 2017 Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award.

AAVMC Excellence in Communications Award was presented to Sarah Carey on July 22 in Indianapolis.

College communications efforts honored by national group

Sarah Carey led the college’s communications efforts to advance its national reputation.

Canine flu vaccination clinic

UF plays key role in managing new dog flu emergence

The UF College of Veterinary Medicine has played a key leadership role in managing the emergence of a strain of dog flu new to the state of Florida.

...also in this issue



Around the College