2018 Superior Accomplishment Award winners named

SuperiorAccomplishmentAwardWinners 2018

Pictured from left to right at a ceremony honoring the 2018 UF Superior Accomplishment Award winners are Danny Sanetz, Dean Jim Lloyd, Jaime Wilson, Andrea Miller, Barbara DuPont, Sharon Carter and Alice Bliss-Dodd. Not pictured are Kelly Higgs-Rick and Mike Artaud Del Valle. (Photo courtesy of Shannon Pettit)

Seven employees of the UF College of Veterinary Medicine have received 2018 Superior Accomplishment Awards in the UF Health Science Center’s Division 5 category, which includes all six health-related colleges. Each winner will receive a cash award of $200, a framed certificate and a commemorative coffee mug, and will be considered as nominees for university-level awards, which offer eight $1,000 and six $2,000 cash prizes.

On Feb. 9, an awards banquet was held at the Wyndham Garden Gainesville (formerly the Paramount Plaza Hotel) to honor the winners and to recognize their nominators, supervisors and college deans. And the winners are:

Alice Bliss-Dodd, Purchasing Assistant
Sharon Carter, Administrative Support Assistant 3
Jaime Wilson, Veterinary Receptionist

Michael Artaud Del-Valle, Veterinary Technician 2

Barbara DuPont, Administrative Specialist 2
Kelly Higgs-Rick, Veterinary Hospital Manager

Andrea Miller, Veterinary Hospital Health Information


Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

January-February 2018

Dr. Julie Moore

College names new IDI department chair

Dr. Julie Moore, a malaria expert, will join the college as the new chair of infectious diseases and immunology.

SuperiorAccomplishmentAwardWinners 2018

2018 Superior Accomplishment Award winners named

The college’s 2018 Superior Accomplishment Award winners have been named.

Dr. Mary Brown and Marissa Valentine-King.

UF study: Rare genetic mutation causes resistance to antibiotic used to treat UTIs

This study, authored by Dr. Mary Brown and others, was also the first to evaluate antibiotic resistance levels in 180 college-aged women with their first UTIs.

Katie Boudreau

College names new senior director of advancement and alumni affairs

Katie Boudreau, who joined the UFCVM’s advancement team in 2015, has been promoted to senior director.

Dr. Liang Zhou

UF scientist studies unique receptor’s relationship to immune system disease

Dr. Liang Zhou studies immune system disease at the cellular level, with particular interest in a receptor that is best known for its role in detecting environmental contaminants inside the body.

ECT treatment of sea turtles

UF veterinarians perform electrochemotherapy on sea turtles

UF veterinarians recently performed the first electrochemotherapy on sea turtles in the United States, with promising results.

...also in this issue



Around the College