National search underway for new UFCVM dean

Dr. Vickroy

Dr. Tom Vickroy

Administrators at the University of Florida have announced the start of a national search for the next dean of the UF College of Veterinary Medicine.

A 17-member search committee has been appointed jointly by Jack Payne, Ph.D., senior vice president for agriculture and natural resources at UF/IFAS, and David R. Nelson, M.D., senior vice president for health affairs at UF and president of UF Health.

Payne and Nelson officially charged the committee during its inaugural meeting on June 3.

“In view of our college’s current trajectory, as well as the positive momentum across the UF enterprise, this is a great time for us to recruit and hire an excellent leader,” said the college’s interim dean, Thomas W. Vickroy, Ph.D., whose ongoing role is executive associate dean.

The new dean will replace James W. Lloyd, D.V.M., Ph.D., who announced his retirement earlier this spring after serving in the post since 2013. Under Lloyd’s leadership, the college jumped to No. 9 in the most recent U.S. News & World Report rankings of veterinary medical colleges nationwide, moving five spots — more than any other college — from its previous ranking.

“We are grateful for Dean Lloyd’s many achievements on behalf of our college, and wish him the very best in his retirement,” Vickroy said.

The committee will be co-chaired by Isabel Garcia, D.D.S, dean of the UF College of Dentistry, and Nick Place, Ph.D., dean of extension at UF/IFAS. In addition to these co-chairs, the College of Veterinary Medicine will be represented by:

  • Dr. Chris Adin, chair, department of small animal clinical sciences
  • Dr. Guy Lester, chair, department of large animal clinical sciences
  • Dr. Julie Moore, chair, department of infectious diseases and immunology
  • Dr. Subhashinie Kariyawasam, chair, department of comparative, diagnostic and population medicine
  • Dr. Paul Cooke, chair, department of physiological sciences
  • Dr. Dana Zimmel, associate dean for clinical services
  • Katie Boudreau, senior director of advancement and alumni affairs
  • Dr. Julie Levy, professor of shelter medicine and faculty representative
  • Rachel Grabar, veterinary medical student representative
  • Hannah Barber, graduate student representative

The committee also includes three UF representatives outside the veterinary college: Dr. Steve Sugrue, senior associate dean for research affairs, UF College of Medicine;  Dr. J. Glenn Morris, director of the UF Emerging Pathogens Institute; and Dr. John Arthington, chair, animal sciences department, UF/IFAS. Additionally, two representatives from outside of UF, Dr. Marc Presnell, past president of the Florida Veterinary Medical Association, and Dr. Lisa Conti, chief science officer for the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, will serve on the committee.

Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

May-June 2019

Dr. Larry Garcia and Brandi Phillips with new UF VETS truck.

Bring it on: UF VETS team rolls out new 44-foot disaster response vehicle

The UF VETS disaster response team has a new 44-foot vehicle, funded through a grant from the Banfield Foundation and PetSmart Charities.

Dr. Plummer examines a dog

Nearly 70 dogs receive free eye and heart screenings at UF as part of national event

Nearly 70 dogs received free eye and heart screenings at UF’s Small Animal Hospital May 3 as part of a national event sponsored by ACVO-StokesRx.

2019 Distinguished Award winners

College announces 2019 Distinguished Award winners

The college honored its 2019 Distinguished Award winners during commencement at UF’s Phillips Center on May 25.

BI Graphic

CVM students chosen for European exchange program

Two UF veterinary students will have research projects in Europe this summer through the Boehringer Ingleheim Veterinary Scholars Program.

Phi Zeta Day poster competition

Phi Zeta Day highlights best in science at UFCVM

Phi Zeta Research Day activities showcased a variety of scientific projects.

Dr. Braun with his truck in the field.

Longtime former faculty member, bovine specialist, Dr. Ken Braun, passes away

Dr. Ken Braun, a food animal medicine specialist and former CVM administrator, has passed away.

Dr. Vickroy

National search underway for new UFCVM dean

A national search is underway for the UFCVM’s next dean.

...also in this issue



Around the College