Congratulations to new M.S., Ph.D. recipients

Several students in the UF College of Veterinary Medicine‚Äôs graduate studies program received their degrees May 4-5 in two separate ceremonies held on campus at the university’s Stephen C. O’Connell Center.

The new graduates are:

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree:

  • James Crosby: mentored by Dr. Jason Byrd
  • Sarah Wahltinez: mentored by Dr. Nicole Stacy
  • Emily Griffin: mentored by Dr. John Bowden

Master of Science (M.S) degree/on campus (thesis-based):

  • Kallie Marshal Gilbert: mentored by Dr. Dominico Santoro and Dr. Rosanna Marsella

Distance-Ed Master of Science (M.S.) degrees (non-thesis):

Shelter Medicine

  • Hannah Garcia
  • Jonathan Chardon-Robles
  • Eugene Gom-o
  • Rianna Olmstead
  • Amber Elalem
  • Karlianna Russell
  • Alyssa Hughes Makarewich
  • JoAnna Jarred
  • Laura Pritzker
  • Charlott Bartleson
  • Michal Jerassy
  • Berlin Waters
  • Kristian Hunt

Veterinary Forensic Sciences

  • Sarah Lamothe
  • Daisy Sullivan
  • Kiara Marrero
  • Alyssa McGee
  • Alison Frye
  • Sara Donnelly
  • Wendy Peters
  • Samantha Smith
  • Gabrielle Stauffer
  • Kelly Jones
  • Susan Norris
  • Lauren Ehrlicher
  • Erin Lintag

Forensic Toxicology

  • Shabanna Mahadeo
  • Sara Mantick
  • Amber Clevenger
  • Ellen Schaefer
  • Meredith Jacques
  • Alyssa Galenski
  • Arin Shupert
  • Celeste Corral


Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

May-June 2023

Dr. Zimmel

A message from our dean

A message from the college’s dean, Dr. Dana Zimmel.

Group shot of Distinguished Award winners

College names 2023 Distinguished Award winners

The winners were honored during commencement exercises for the Class of 2023 at UF’s Phillips Center for the Performing Arts.

Dr. Klibs Galvao at dairy farm.

Faculty member honored by national dairy group

The award is given annually to recognize outstanding research in dairy cattle physiology.

New faculty composite

College welcomes new faculty

The college has welcomed several new faculty members to the UF College of Veterinary Medicine community this past year. Additionally, some faculty have transferred into college departments from other UF departments or moved into new administrative roles.

Alice Bliss-Dodd

Staff member honored with campuswide Superior Accomplishment Award

Bliss-Dodd played a key role in managing purchasing for the new UF Veterinary Hospital at World Equestrian Center.

Dr. Liang Zhou

Researcher named UFRF Professor

The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

...also in this issue



Around the College