Graduates receive M.S., Ph.D. degrees

Several UF College of Veterinary Medicine graduate students received M.S. or Ph.D. degrees during commencement exercises held Aug. 11 at UF’s Stephen C. O’Connell Center.  Among those receiving degrees were:

Ph.D. degree:

  • Lingsha Ju (mentored by Dr. Anatoly Martynyuk and Dr. Paul Cooke)
  • Steven Tillis (mentored by Dr. Robert Ossiboff)
  • Hongjia He (mentored by Dr. Adam Biedrzycki

Master of Science degree (thesis-based):

  • Maria Ugarte Marin Belen (mentored by Dr. Rafael Bisinotto)
  • Jacob Morris (mentored by Dr. Caryn Plummer and Dr. Bret Moore)
  • Natalie Worden (mentored by Dr. Judith Bertran)
  • Megan Horowitz (mentored by Dr. Andrew Allison)

Master of Science degree (non-thesis, distance education):

Shelter Medicine
(Program coordinator, Dr. Terry Spencer)

  • Samantha Hope Stewart
  • Sarah E. Files
  • Vanessa L. Bundy

Veterinary Forensic Sciences
(Program coordinator, Dr. Jason Byrd)

  • Alexa Battaglia
  • Jennifer Bonovich
  • Ken Jacob Angell
  • Hannah M. Michalski
  • Jasmine Tiffany Bruno
  • Domenick Altieri
  • Chelsie Lynn Hall
  • Victoria Caridad Galdo
  • Emma Kate Elgan
  • Marielle Jankowski
  • Lateefah Raziya Williams

Forensic Toxicology
(Program coordinator, Nancy Toffolo)

  • Morgan Shuttleworth
  • Shelyanne Adorno Otero
  • Jennifer  Slife
  • Crystal Everett
Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

July-August 2023

Dr. Zimmel

A message from our dean

A message from the college’s dean, Dr. Dana Zimmel.

Dr. Aaron Mickle

Faculty member honored with 2023 Excellence Award for Assistant Professors

The award is a campus-wide achievement and top honor for junior faculty.

Lorenzo, a sheepdog/standard poodle mix, with his owner, Jodey Eliseo, and a member of his care team.

Event reunites formerly critically ill patients with UF veterinary teams involved in their recovery

About a dozen dogs that survived critical illness after treatment at UF were reunited with their care teams during a Celebration of Life event held Aug. 12.

Dr. Adesola Odunayo

Emergency specialist faculty member receives inaugural Michael Schaer Professorship

The professorship provides perpetual support for a clinical faculty member associated with the department of small animal clinical sciences who works with the UF Small Animal Hospital’s emergency and critical care service.

Brooke, the alligator, during visit to UFCVM for diagnostics.

Alligator patient diagnosed with ear infection

The alligator came to UF on July 25 for a full diagnostic work-up after exhibiting abnormal behavior.

Dr. Charles Vite

Veterinary neurology specialist to lead department of small animal clinical sciences

Dr. Charles Vite’s appointment is effective Oct. 1.

Dr. Rowan Milner and canine cancer patient.

UF veterinary oncology program gets boost via the Ann and Lawrence G. Laiks Canine Cancer Fund

At UF, the fund will be used to support special collaborative canine cancer research with the UF Health Cancer Center.

Dr. Janet Robishaw

Genomics researcher named associate dean at the college

Dr. Janet Robishaw began her appointment as associate dean for research and graduate studies on Aug. 15.

...also in this issue



Around the College